Skip to site navigation

Important notice: by continuing to use our site you are deemed to have accepted our privacy and cookie policy


The Council is the governing body of the RHS.


Sir Nicholas Bacon Bt, OBE, DL


Alastair (Sandy) Muirhead

Council members
James Alexander-Sinclair Mark Fane
George Anderson MBE Professor Peter Gregory
Rosie Atkins FL David Haselgrove
David Morrison Jekka McVicar
Christopher Blundell Lady (Xa) Tollemache
Dennis Espley Dougal Philip
Mark Porter Jon Wheatley
Neil Lucas  

Leadership team

Director General

Sue Biggs

Director of Education, Fundraising and Communities

Ruth Evans

Director of Horticulture

Jim Gardiner (to 23 March 2014)/ Dr Tim Upson (from 24 March 2014)

Head of Retail

Will Havercroft

Director of Gardens, Shows & Retail

David Morley (from 10 March 2014)

Head of HR

Sandra Parsons

Head of Science

Dr Alistair Griffiths

Head of Communications

Hayley Monckton

Director of Members, Art & Media

Dan Wolfe

Director of Finance

James Hiley

Director of Internal Audit & IT

Jan Nix


Jan Nix


Grant Thornton UK LLP

Advertise here

Grow your own

Grow your own

Interested in growing your own fruit and veg? We've got all the advice you'll ever need, from planting through to recipe ideas!

More on grow your own