A day of special celebration

The RHS presents its highest accolades in a prestigious ceremony

RHS awards are given annually; those for this year were presented on 22 February, 2017 at a ceremony in London by RHS President Sir Nicholas Bacon.

The top award, the Victoria Medal of Honour, was given to RHS Ambassador and Vice President Jekka McVicar and Nick Dunn.
Jekka McVicarNick Dunn

Jekka McVicar is a well-known herb expert. At her Gloucestershire nursery, she has bred new cultivars, and as an exhibitor received 62 RHS Gold medals. Jekka is an author, consultant, judge and moderator; President of the Friends of Bristol Botanic Garden; and Vice President of the Herb Society. She has served on RHS Council, several RHS Committees and is an Honorary Member of the RHS Fruit, Vegetable and Herb Committee.

Nick Dunn is Managing Director of Frank P Matthews, Worcestershire, which produces fruit and ornamental trees. He has worked to improve training and education in the nursery stock and fruit-growing industries. He currently chairs the RHS Fruit, Vegetable and Herb Committee, and is a member of the DEFRA National Fruit Collection Advisory Committee.

Sarah Eberle, Susan Dickinson, Ian Wright, Stephen Crisp and Ivor Stokes received the Associate of Honour for distinguished service to horticulture during their careers.

The Veitch Memorial Medal was awarded to Dominic Cole, Rod Leeds, Philippe Lecoufle, William McNamara and Andrew McIndoe – all recognised for their outstanding contributions to the science, art and practice of horticulture.

Rae Beckwith received The Harlow Carr Medal for significant contributions to horticulture in the North of England.

Other awards presented at the ceremony include the Master of Horticulture (RHS), Lawrence Medal, Wigan Cup, Eric Young Orchid Trophy and Stanley Lord Bowl.

See a list of other awards

Get involved

The Royal Horticultural Society is the UK’s leading gardening charity. We aim to enrich everyone’s life through plants, and make the UK a greener and more beautiful place.