Outstanding horticulture

The RHS has announced the recipients of its esteemed annual awards for horticulture

Ron Scamp (left) and Adrian Scamp of RA Scamp with their daffodils at the RHS Flower Show Cardiff 2014Presented at a ceremony in London on 26 February, the RHS Awards will recognise both horticultural excellence and personal endeavour and are regarded internationally as being among the highest accolades in horticulture.

Gillian Barlow, Robert Berry, Neil Bragg, Fergus Garrett, Charles Nelson, Penny Snell and John Pilbeam will all be awarded the Veitch Memorial Medal for their outstanding contribution to the advancement of the science and practice of horticulture. All recipients have had an exceptional impact in their area of expertise.

Sarah Cook, Simon Goodenough, Robert Haslam and Sally Kington are to be awarded the RHS Associate of Honour, which is presented to British citizens who have rendered distinguished service to the practice of horticulture either as employers or employees throughout their career.

The Harlow Carr Medal, given to honour those who have made a significant contribution to horticulture in the North of England, goes to Helen Bainbridge of Fir Trees Pelargonium Nursery, North Yorkshire. Helen lectures on pelargoniums and has regularly staged flower show displays receiving Gold medals.

Also recognised will be those awarded the Master of Horticulture, the Society’s most prestigious professional horticultural qualification. This year’s graduates are: Mike van den Berg, Teija Ahjokoski, Tom Brown, Chris Day, Patrick Gardner, Ben Johnson, Paul Kettell, Philip Moreau, Harry Mycock, Michael Myers, Gemma Neech, Jenny Pitts, John McConnell and Cara Smith.

Dahlia 'Vulcan' the on Pheasant Acre Plants stand – nominee for the Lawrence Medal – at the RHS London Shades of Autumn Show 2013The Lawrence Medal, awarded annually for the best exhibit shown to the Society during the year will be announced at the ceremony on 26 February. The seven nominees are Birmingham City Council, Drointon Nurseries, Medwyn’s of Anglesey, Pheasant Acre Plants, R A Scamp Quality Daffodils, South West in Bloom, and Vacherot & Lecoufle.

RHS President Sir Nicholas Bacon said: 'I would like to offer my congratulations to everyone receiving an award. It is an honour to be able to recognise the extraordinary contribution that these individuals and organisations have made to horticulture.'

Other awards bestowed include the Jones-Bateman Cup, the Holford Medal, the Anthony Huxley Trophy, the Colin Spires Herb Trophy and the Williams Memorial Medal.

Full List of RHS Awards 2015

Name Award
Every Picture Tells a Story Anthony Huxley Trophy
Sarah Cook Associate of Honour
Simon Goodenough Associate of Honour
Robert Haslam Associate of Honour
Sally Kington Associate of Honour
Aimee Beth Browning Best Bursary Report Prize
Makiko Kuga Most gained from an RHS Bursary Prize
Stonecrop Herbs Colin Spires Herb Trophy
R A Scamp Quality Daffodils E H Trophy
The Orchid Society of Great Britain Eric Young Orchid Trophy
Edrom Nursery Farrer Trophy
Ron Scamp Mrs F E Rivis Prize
Medwyn's of Anglesey Gordon-Lennox Trophy
Helen Bainbridge Harlow Carr Medal
The Orchid Society of Great Britain Holford Medal
Professor Xiangming Xu Jones-Bateman Cup
Nominees are:
Birmingham City Council
Drointon Nurseries
Medwyn’s of Anglesey
Pheasant Acre Plants
R A Scamp Quality Daffodils
South West in Bloom
Todd's Botanics
Vacherot & Lecoufle
Lawrence Medal Nominees
Teija Ahjokoski Master of Horticulture
Tom Brown Master of Horticulture
Chris Day Master of Horticulture
Patrick Gardner Master of Horticulture
Ben Johnson Master of Horticulture
Paul Kettell Master of Horticulture
John McConnell Master of Horticulture
Cara Smith Master of Horticulture
Michael Myers Master of Horticulture
Jenny Pitts Master of Horticulture
Gemma Neech Master of Horticulture
Mike van den Berg Master of Horticulture
Harry Mycock Master of Horticulture
Philip Moreau Master of Horticulture
Peter Brandham Peter Barr Memorial Cup
Ken Dymond Reginald Cory Memorial Cup
Richard Warren Westonbirt Orchid Medal
R V Roger Ltd Stanley-Lord Bowl
Gillian Barlow Veitch Memorial Medal
Robert Berry Veitch Memorial Medal
Neil Bragg Veitch Memorial Medal
Fergus Garrett Veitch Memorial Medal
Charles Nelson Veitch Memorial Medal
John Pilbeam Veitch Memorial Medal
Penny Snell Veitch Memorial Medal
Birmingham City Council Wigan Cup
R A Scamp Quality Daffodils Williams Memorial Medal

Get involved

The Royal Horticultural Society is the UK’s leading gardening charity. We aim to enrich everyone’s life through plants, and make the UK a greener and more beautiful place.