Pictured, 2018 award recipients


Nominations for the 2020 RHS People Awards are now closed

For more information about RHS Awards, please contact secretary@rhs.org.uk or telephone 0207 821 3068.


The Victoria Medal of Honour

Established in 1897, the Victoria Medal of Honour (VMH) may be awarded to British horticulturists deserving of special honour by the Society and is awarded for life. Only 63 medals may be held at any one time, in recognition of the duration in years of Queen Victoria’s reign.

In 2019 the VMH was awarded to Fergus Garrett, Tony Kirkham and Bill Simpson.

Associate of Honour

Established in 1930, the Associate of Honour is conferred on persons of British nationality who have rendered distinguished service to the practice of horticulture either as employers, or employees during the course of their working life. The number of Associates of Honour may not exceed 100 at any one time (excluding those Associates who also hold the Victoria Medal of Honour).

In 2019 the Associate of Honour was awarded to Mike Buffin, Bryan Goodey, Linda Phillips and Sarah Wain.

The Veitch Memorial Medal

The Veitch Memorial Medal is awarded annually to persons of any nationality who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the science and practice of horticulture.

In 2019 the Veitch Memorial Medal was awarded to Ursula Drioli, Fabio Garbari, John Tan Jiew Hoe and Rachel Lever.

The Harlow Carr Medal

The Harlow Carr Medal is conferred on persons who have made a significant contribution to horticulture in the North of England, through length of service, commitment to projects or capabilities, combined with reliability and professionalism.

In 2019 the Harlow Carr Medal was awarded to Roger Brownbridge.

Roy Lancaster Award

The Roy Lancaster Award is awarded to individuals under 35 (on the date of
nomination) who have achieved an exceptional contribution to the practice, science or promotion of horticulture.
In 2019 the Roy Lancaster Award was awarded to Graham Gunn.

See a list of other awards

RHS Membership

Join the RHS

I enjoy a refreshing walk… my membership gives me free family days out as often as I like.

Mrs Giddings, RHS member

Join the RHS

Get involved

The Royal Horticultural Society is the UK’s leading gardening charity. We aim to enrich everyone’s life through plants, and make the UK a greener and more beautiful place.