RHS People Awards

Celebrating those who have made outstanding contributions to horticulture and gardening

RHS Award winners 2023: Jon Wheatley, Jim Marshall, Claudia Whales and Alexandra Elton (on behalf of Paul Phillips)

RHS People Awards presented in 2023

The Elizabeth Medal of Honour

The Elizabeth Medal of Honour was established in 2023, with the gracious assent of His Majesty King Charles III in perpetual remembrance of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s glorious reign. The Medal enables the RHS Council to confer conspicuous honour on those of any nationality that have significantly impacted the advancement of the science, art or practice of horticulture for the benefit of all generations and the environment. In recognition of the duration of Queen Elizabeth’s reign, only 70 medals will be held at any one time.
The 2023 Elizabeth Medal of Honour was awarded to The Rt Hon the Baroness Janet Fookes DBE, Judy Ling Wong CBE and Piet Oudolf. 

The Victoria Medal of Honour

The Victoria Medal of Honour (VMH) was established in 1897, with the assent of Her Majesty Queen Victoria, to enable the RHS Council to confer conspicuous honour on those British horticulturists deserving of special honour by the Society. In recognition of the duration of Queen Victoria’s reign, only 63 medals may be held at any one time.

The 2023 Victoria Medal of Honour (VMH) was awarded to Jim Marshall, Paul Phillips and Jon Wheatley.

The Veitch Memorial Medal

The Veitch Memorial Medal may be awarded annually to persons of any nationality who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the science and practice of horticulture. The Veitch Memorial Medal is held for life and there is no limit to the number of medals that may be awarded.

The 2023 Veitch Memorial Medal was awarded to Susan Campbell, Graham Duncan, Mark Jury, Sidney Linnegar, Bleddyn and Sue Wynn-Jones.

Associate of Honour

An Associate of Honour may be awarded to persons of British nationality who have rendered distinguished service to the practice of horticulture during the course of their working career. The Associate of Honour is held for life and the number of Associates may not exceed 100 at any one time (excluding those Associates who also hold the Victoria Medal of Honour).

The 2023 Associate of Honour was awarded to Jim Durrant, Mark Gregory and Stephen Griffith.

The Harlow Carr Medal

The Harlow Carr Medal may be awarded for life to those who have made a significant contribution to horticulture in the North of England, through length of service, commitment to projects or unique capabilities, combined with reliability and professionalism.

The 2023 Harlow Carr Medal was awarded to Keith Eyre and Jonathan Moseley.

Reginald Cory Memorial Cup

To encourage the production of new hybrids of garden origin, the Reginald Cory Memorial Cup may be awarded to a raiser whose hybridisation programme has resulted in the recent introduction and availability of new hybrids of merit. This award is not limited by plant hardiness or to the breeding of a particular genus or species, though fruit and vegetables are excluded. The Cup is held for one year and awarded annually.

The 2023 Reginald Cory Memorial Cup was awarded to Anne Wright.

Community Award

The Community Award may be awarded to anyone in the UK who has made an outstanding contribution to a community gardening programme over a period of time, including community gardens, orchards, urban and rural programmes that bring value to the wider community where they are based.

The 2023 Community Award was awarded to Jenny Wigston.

Roy Lancaster Award

The Roy Lancaster Award is open to those under 35 on the date of nomination who have achieved an exceptional contribution to the practice, science or promotion of horticulture.

The 2023 Roy Lancaster Award was awarded to Rowan Griffiths.

RHS People Awards 2024

The following awards are available for presentation in 2024:

  • The Victoria Medal of Honour
  • The Elizabeth Medal of Honour
  • The Veitch Memorial Medal
  • Associate of Honour
  • Harlow Carr Medal
  • Roy Lancaster Award
  • Reginald Cory Memorial Cup
  • Carew Pole Community Award

For more information, see the award criteria and faqs (232kB pdf)
Nominations for the 2024 RHS People Awards are now closed. Nominations for the 2025 RHS People Awards will open on 1 June 2024.

Further information

For more information about RHS Awards or Nominations, please email  [email protected] or telephone 020 7821 3068.

Useful information

See the other awards handed out at the RHS Awards ceremony.

You might also be interested in our RHS Plant Committee Annual awards

Around the Society

RHS Ambassadors

 RHS Gardens

• Science

Get involved

The Royal Horticultural Society is the UK’s leading gardening charity. We aim to enrich everyone’s life through plants, and make the UK a greener and more beautiful place.